Overview

The Ontario Secondary School Literacy Test (OSSLT) is a mandatory test for all students who are working towards their Secondary School Diploma. It is administered to Grade 10 students, or senior students who still need to fulfill this graduation requirement, in the spring of every year.

The date for this school year is March 30, 2017

Preparation

Literacy tasks (that assess reading and writing skills) are embedded in all of our courses throughout the entire school year to help prepare students for this test. In addition, students write a minimum of one simulation test during class time to prepare them for the types of questions asked on the real test.

Afterschool Literacy Program (Semester 2)

  • Afterschool literacy program is designed to re-teach and reinforce key reading and writing skills tested on the Ontario Secondary School Literacy Test.  The program will be run by Jean Vanier staff on the below dates from 2:30 – 4:00p.  Attendance will be recorded at each session.  Students will meet in room 214
  • Dates:
    • Thursday, February 16
    • Tuesday, February 21
    • Wednesday, February 22
    • Monday, February 27
    • Tuesday, February 28
    • Monday, March 6
    • Tuesday, March 7
    • Monday, March 20
    • Tuesday, March 21
    • Tuesday, March 28
    • Wednesday, March 29

Useful Links: